DO NOT include your CPD Activity Log or any CPD documentation with your P.E. or P.S. renewal. When needed, the Board will directly request CPD paperwork from you in writing.
To Complete Ethics/ Laws and Rules Training.
On January 6, 2017 Governor Kasich signed House Bill 236 into law. Effective January 1, 2018 Ohio’s professional engineers and professional surveyors will be required to complete two hours of the 30 hour biennial continuing professional development requirement in professional ethics or rules relevant to the practices of engineering or surveying.
How does this law change affect Ohio’s professional engineers and professional surveyors? For the upcoming renewal period for 2018/2019 you WILL NOT have to attest on the renewal due January 1, 2018 that you have completed two hours in professional ethics or rules relevant to the practices of engineering or surveying. Licensees will have to complete the two hours in professional ethics or rules relevant to the practices of engineering or surveying between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019 in order to renew for the 2020/2021 renewal period. Each subsequent renewal period thereafter licensees will have to complete two of the thirty required continuing professional development hours in professional ethics or rules relevant to the practices of engineering or surveying.
The Board encourages licensees to take courses in professional ethics or rules relevant to the practices of engineering or surveying from reputable providers that will provide accurate and up-to-date information based on Ohio Revise Code Chapter 4733 and the Board’s Code of Ethics for Professional Engineers and Surveyors. The Board will be working with Ohio’s technical and professional associations to provide educational opportunities for Ohio licensees.
CPD POLICY EFFECTIVE 05/20/2009 | UPDATED 09/26/2013
Registrants are reminded that Board policy allows up to a maximum of three (3) hours continuing professional development per year for the completion of correspondence courses (paper, online, or other formats) provided the course and the course provider meet the requirements of R.C. 4733.151.
Important- Do not confuse correspondence courses and online courses. Correspondence courses are courses that involve reading articles or other text and can be received by mail or online. Correspondence courses are typically self-paced and participation is not monitored by the provider. These types of courses are acceptable up to three hours per year.
All registered professional engineers and professional surveyors must comply with Ohio Revised Code section 4733.151. Beginning January 1, 2012, registered professional engineers and professional surveyors must complete 30 hours of continuing education during the two-year (biennial) renewal period unless otherwise exempt. Continuing Professional Development (CPD) hours shall be relevant to the practice of engineering or surveying and must include technical, ethical or managerial material.
A registrant is exempt from the CPD requirements during the first calendar year of registration; however, they will be required to complete 15 hours of continuing education during the subsequent year.
Each registrant must complete 30 hours of continuing education during the two-year period immediately preceding the biennial renewal expiration date.
A person registered as both a professional engineer and professional surveyor shall complete at least 10 of the 30 hours in engineering-related coursework or activities and at least 10 of those 30 hours in surveying-related coursework or activities.
If the registrant earns more than the required 30 hours in any biennial renewal period, a maximum of 15 of the remaining hours may be carried forward into the following renewal period.
Acceptable CPD hours for registered professional engineers and registered professional surveyors include:
Unacceptable CPD hours for registered professional engineers and registered professional surveyors include:
The registrant shall be responsible for maintaining records to support his or her own professional development hours. Records required include, but are not limited to:
Records must be maintained for a period of four years. Such documentation shall be made available to the Board for random audit and/or verification purposes. Documentation must support the professional development hours claimed.
A registrant may apply to the Board for reinstatement by obtaining all delinquent CPD hours and by meeting the requirements set forth in Ohio Administrative Code section 4733-25-01.
An exemption from the CPD requirement may be granted if a registrant is on active duty in the U.S. military. A request must be made in writing to the Board including official documentation of military active duty.
In limited cases, the Board may grant an exemption from the CPD requirement because of a medical condition and/or reason. You must contact the Board for a Medical Waiver Request form; it is not available online. The form must then be completed and a written letter of explanation must be submitted to the Board for approval.
In accordance with Ohio Revised Code section 4733.151, completion of the required continuing professional development hours is a condition of licensure renewal. No registrant will be renewed until the requirement is satisfied. If, after renewal, it is found that the registrant did not comply with these requirements, disciplinary proceedings will be initiated.
Registrants found to have provided false information or documentation to the Board will be referred to the Attorney General’s office.
Changes to the Board’s Continuing Education Policy will be updated on this page.